A Forgotten Attitude

O give thanks unto the LORD; for [he is] good: for his mercy [endureth] for ever. –Psalm 136:1

When I was a child I was taught by my parents to say thank you when I was growing up. Weather I meant it or not if somebody gave me something either underwear for my birthday when I was hoping for a baseball mitt or a bowl of ice cream on a hot summer day. I knew if I meant it or not, and probably so did the person I said it to as well. When I grew up, some things changed (I really am happy now for nice socks on a birthday) and some have not. Like am I sincerely thankful to God for everything?

It is easy to give a glib yes but it fails under closer scrutiny. I am really thankful for the job God gave but how do I show it? By going to work each day or at least most days, truly happy and looking forward to work. Usually yes but then complain about the work when things are not going just the way I want it to and that is not being thankful. Just look at the Psalmist the verse above.

  • Give thanks because God is good: Think of all the good things in life He allows us to have: A job, a car a warm (or cool) home. In verses following we see things like His creation (vs. 6-9); I use to work in Seabright, NJ on the Jersey Shore and just sit on the beach and watch the sun rise and wonder at the beauty of God’s creation. Also His protection (vs. 10-22) and His provision (vs. 23-25) how he saved and delivered Israel and he saved me also. And lest I foget good health to enjoy life. God is good and I need to be more thankful

  • Give thanks because His mercy endures forever. (Every verse in this Psalm). His mercy (goodness, kindness, faithfulness) shows through. Even when Israel sinned God showed His mercy. Mercy in its simplest form is God not giving us what we deserve and it endures forever. When we mess up, God remembers we are dust and forgives us when we repent. Thank God not only for the fact he has mercy but we cannot exhaust it.

So next time we feel the grumpies coming on remember we have a lot of reasons to be thankful and recapture that forgotten attitude. Remember it is God’s will for us:

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. -1 Thessalonians 5:18

What do you think?

