A True Friend Is Sincere

He that blesseth his friend with a loud voice, rising early in the morning, it shall be counted a curse to him. –Proverbs 27:14

 

When dealing with a friend it is important to be sincere. A friend that gives excessive zeal in praising raises suspicions of selfishness or other ulterior motives I am not talking about nor does the text imply not to give credit where credit is due.

 

I remember a man a counted as a friend but I will not even give a first name to avoid embarrassment to this individual but he tried hard to be my friend and gave me gifts and told me fast and often what a good job I was doing. I did not think anything of it at the time but there came a time where I was asked to violate corporate rule to help cover for something he wanted to do. I turned him down flat (I owe that to my employer but more about that in another post, it is a different topic.) He reminded me of all the wonderful things he did for me. He was not a true friend. I took him at face value and that was a mistake on my part. He was a user who was trying to curry favor for a later time. I admit I was hurt a little but I learned a lot. I give gifts to my friends but as a token of love and esteem. I give and then forget. We need to keep our motives in mind when we are dealing with our friends to be a true friend and be sincere in word, action and motive.

What do you think?

