A Discarded Action

And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy [it] of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the LORD my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver. -2 Samuel 24:24

Sacrifice, it is in large part a foreign concept today. Our parents and grandparents understood. My grandfather one time traded his car for a down payment on a house (the total was $5). We did not always had the newest or the best furniture growing up but the house was always nice and we never went to bed hungry. The problem with many of my generation (and those that follow) is that we want now what it took our parents 30 years to build up so we get up to our eyes in credit card debt and spend 10 years and thousands of extra dollars in exorbitant interest to collect our toys.

We choose to discard the action of sacrifice. Not to save up and put the time in to get what we need (and not every little want: I don’t need a new DVD player now.)

This translates poorly to our spiritual lives also. We money is so tied up in our day to day living we do not have to give the way God may want us to, and we look for easy outs but God shows us through David the proper attitude in giving: Sacrifices cost. David could have said “Oh boy! I can satisfy Gods requirements and it will only cost me a little time and not one red cent of money!” but that is not how it works. When God sent His perfect Sacrifice only His best would do, so Jesus died on the cross.

This is a hard lesson to learn and I am still working on it. God lead me to help a family in need and while I was thinking about the need I though: “Brother David (a friend of mine) might have this laying around his farm and I just give him a call!” I felt like I got the tap on the shoulder from God letting me know I was to do this not David. We always try to find and easy way out but when it comes to sacrifice we just have to do it. And I am still growing in this area. I am learning to follow God in how He wants me to give in time, talent and money. I still struggle from time to time but it seems odd the more time and money I give to God the more time and money I seem to have to do other things I also enjoy and have more money to pay bills, odd isn’t it? J And while I may not have gotten to the level where I am truly sacrificing yet I am on the way as God leads and am enjoying the journey.

What do you think?

