Listening, It’s A Good Thing

He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him. –Proverbs 18:13

I have a problem. I like to solve problems. This may seem like a good thing but the trouble is that as soon as I hear about it, I want to find a solution. The problem is I don’t always hear the whole statement before I respond!

This verse admonishes us against such rash actions. It is a folly (200. <ivveleth, iv-veh’-leth; from the same as 191; silliness:— folly, foolishly (-ness).) and shame (3639 kƒlimmaÆh, kel-im-maw’; from 3637; disgrace:— confusion, dishonour, reproach, shame.) unto him. Think about it. If your at work and you make a decision based on half the information, it could cost your company much in wasted money and man hours and not only will you feel foolish but it could be such and reproach or dishonor that it could cost you your job.

The same holds true in spiritual matters. I feel God’s leading to go to school. What do I do? Go and enroll at the University of Phoenix! I feel that is not right so I go to enroll in trade school. But none of my actions bring the perfect peace I seek from God and thing suddenly are not going as well at work as they were just a few weeks ago.

So what to do? Spend some extended time with God! Did you ever have someone give you a good smack on the back of the head for doing something stupid? That is what it felt like, the proverbial smack on the back of the head (or tap on the shoulder, etc.) from God. It was like it is about time you were about to make a big mistake. God did not call me to be a business manager, nor work in a trade. He has called me to be about His business. Any schooling needs to be in the area of the Bible to improve my knowledge of His Word. I am so glad God is patient with me and gave me the guidance to seek Him and not do my own thing without hearing the whole story.

Listening, it is always a good thing and will keep you out of trouble.

What do you think?

