Missing Calcutta

I have been reading Shane Clairborne’s book The Irresistible Revolution (and find I can only take it in small doses. Not because I feel his theology is “wrong” (and I do not agree with everything he says) but he has this annoying habit of believing that Jesus meant what he said. I have come under conviction several times and simply had to stop reading.

At one point he speaks of his time in Calcutta with the lepers and the love and how he saw Jesus in them. I can relate to this. Let me share a story.

I was working and living at the Circle of Love Ministries in Jacksonville, FL trying to help America Leper’s (that is the homeless. We just don’t know what to do about it so we avoid them like they were lepers. And to clarify, not everybody there was homeless, some chose to live there for the help we could give to get their lives together.) and I did some of the teaching and preaching there and I had a bad cough, and after service several of the guys got together and brought me a pack of sugar free Halls Cough Drops (I am diabetic). They did not have money enough to buy themselves luxuries like a soda or pack of smokes but they had enough to share with another in need. I was really touched and the love I saw in them humbled me and made me wonder about my own level of love and dedication to the cause of Christ.

I no longer live there but visit from time to time to encourage them, but more often than not I leave feeling uplifted. They understand what Jesus meant when He said: A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all [men] know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. (John 13:14-35)

Shane challenges us to find our Calcutta. I went back to my Calcutta and visited, and remembered that love is the main thing. Go back to your Calcutta and be renewed and challenged to do more.

What do you think?

