They Are Watching Us

I do not usually listen to country music but I was bored last Friday so I turned on Gator Country down here in Jacksonville, FL and hear an unusual song that made me think a little. I do not remember word for word but the main story goes something like this:

A guy was driving home, his son had a happy meal in the back seat and he had to stop short and fries went a-flyin’ and drinks went a-spillin’ and the little boy let out a four letter word and the daddy asked where he learned that from and the boy said from you, I want to be just like you.  Later in the song the kid was praying and the daddy asked where he got that from and the boy answered again “From you, I want to be just like you!”

That is a chilling and true thought. Kids are watching us at home and they are noticing if we are in church or not or if we are honest in our promises or not and they learn a lot more by what they see in us more that what we say. Or more simply: They can spot a phony or a hypocrite a mile away.

We need to stay on our toes, this past Sunday two of our teens missed church because they were working. I though they need to be in church not working and a got one of those smack across the back of the head from God telling me why am I judging them when my schedule requires me to work Wednesday night. I was a sickening thought that they would come on Wednesday night and not see me there so they could think “well, if it is O.K. for Brother Tom to work on Wednesday night during church it is O.K. for me to work on Sunday:

So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God. Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumblingblock or an occasion to fall in [his] brother’s way. I know, and am persuaded by the Lord Jesus, that [there is] nothing unclean of itself: but to him that esteemeth any thing to be unclean, to him [it is] unclean. But if thy brother be grieved with [thy] meat, now walkest thou not charitably. Destroy not him with thy meat, for whom Christ died. Let not then your good be evil spoken of: For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost. –Romans 4:12-16

What I do does not give them or anyone else an excuse to do wrong, each person will stand before God alone and give an account for what they did but I need to watch myself so I do not give anyone a reason to stumble over what I do or say.

Be careful Little eyes are watching.

One thought on “They Are Watching Us

What do you think?

