Got Wisdom?

Wisdom [is] the principal thing; [therefore] get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding. –Proverbs 4:7

 

I have been spending some time in the book of Proverbs and there is a premium placed on wisdom, so it may help to know what exactly wisdom is:

Wisdom: skill (in war), wisdom (in administration), shrewdness, wisdom; wisdom, prudence (in religious affairs); wisdom (ethical and religious) AV-wisdom 145, wisely 2, skilful man 1, wits 1; 149 [i]

As opposed to understanding:  understanding, discernment[ii]

As my Mom said they may be smart but they done have any common sense. The thing is we as Christians need to have both, wisdom being principle; the first thing and not far behind is to understand.  Basically we need to have wisdom, knowledge and know how to apply it in day to day situations otherwise what good does it do?

For years I have been accused of having book knowledge but not common sense. I can quote Bible all day long but had trouble looking at a situation and applying it to actual situations. Knowing Jesus says love your neighbor and putting it into practice is two different things all together. God has a funny way of working these things out.

While I was living at the Circle of Love is when I learned to put “feet to my faith”. I saw the day to day living of the Word not necessarily from the leaders though I love them and they are good Christian people but from the homeless I was working with on a daily basis. One event in particular drove home this thought to me. I was sick and has a cold and cough and was scheduled to preach Sunday night when on of the guys gave me a package of Halls Sugar Free cough drops. They had pooled their money together to buy me some medicine (and even remembered I was diabetic) so I could preach that night without coughing. The thought of this slammed home with me. Here were a bunch of guy who really had nothing of this world, the shelter provided their food and clothes but they cared enough to reach out and care for their neighbor who was sick. It drove home the words of Jesus in the parable of the Good Samaritan:

Which now of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbour unto him that fell among the thieves? And he said, He that shewed mercy on him. Then said Jesus unto him, Go, and do thou likewise. –Luke 10:36-37

Wisdom is when knowledge and understanding meet action and those people will probably never know this side of heaven how much impact their simple act of love had on one man but I learned a lot that day and it is a lesson that I will never forget (It has been over three years since this incident and it still effects me when I think about it). I just hope it gives your pause to think about how we can effect others just by putting feet to faith and do something for someone just because and to show the love of Jesus to others you never know where it may end. I have more to say on wisdom but that will have to wait for my next post.

Just something to think about…


[i]i Blue Letter Bible. “Dictionary and Word Search for ‘chokmah (Strong’s 02451)’ ” . Blue Letter Bible. 1996-2002. 28 Feb 2007. http://www.blueletterbible.org/cgi-bin/words.pl?word=02451&page=1

[ii] ii Blue Letter Bible. “Dictionary and Word Search for ‘biynah (Strong’s 0998)’ ” . Blue Letter Bible. 1996-2002. 28 Feb 2007. http://www.blueletterbible.org/cgi-bin/words.pl?word=0998&page=1

What do you think?

