Why Can’t A Christian Lose His Salvation?

The “Once Saved, Always Saved” debate has been going on for a long time. Let’s see what the Bible says about this topic.

 Can a believer, justified by the blood of Jesus Christ, commit a sin so a horrific or accumulate so many sins that God would revoke the Salvation He gave. I could just say no, He wouldn’t, but you would want to know why. First let’s ask an important question: What is Salvation?  

I. Salvation  

Well Salvation, sozo in greek, means to deliver from the penalty of Messianic judgement. How did Jesus do this? Glad you asked. Let us take a look at some Scripture:  

And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, hath he quickened together with him, having forgiven you all trespasses; Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;- Colossians 2:13-14  

See, we are dead in sin at first (please do not confuse this with animation. We can be physically alive but Spiritually dead) but Jesus forgave us. And you see, we were condemned by Old Testament Law, but he took the law and nailed it to the cross. What is the significance of this? Let’s see:  

Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster [to bring us] unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith. But after that faith is come, we are no longer under a schoolmaster. For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.-Galatians 3:24-26  

There are two major points here. First is that we are no longer under the law. See, under the law in the Old Testament the Holy Spirit would come upon some and then could leave. This is why David would cry in the Psalms ‘Take not thy Spirit from me.’ (Psalm 51:11). We are under Grace and the Holy Spirit now indwells the believer ‘that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost [which is] in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?’-1 Corinthians 6:19).  

So we have Old Testament: Law, God dwelt in a tabernacle or temple. New Testament: Grace and God indwells the believer.  

The second major point is we now have a family relationship. Let’s see the importance of this.  

For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God: And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with [him], that we may be also glorified together.-Romans 8:15-17  

We are adopted into the family of God, where He is our Father. Not only that but He makes us join heirs with Christ. It is one thing for us to adopt a child, but to give the child equal standing with your natural son or daughter? But this is what God has done for us!  

Now that we have established that God dwells in us and we are now quite literally in the family of God, we can look at eternal security.  

II Why You Cannot Lose Your Salvation God’s Promise:  

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any [man] pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave [them] me, is greater than all; and no [man] is able to pluck [them] out of my Father’s hand.I and [my] Father are one.-John 10:27-30  

See, God’s children will never perish and no man (including yourself) can pluck them out of The Father’s hand. What great assurance to the child of God, and a promise we cannot lose what God gave us in love.  

The Works Problem  

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: [it is] the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.-Ephesians 2:8-9  

See, we cannot work for our Salvation, but should work afterwards. That is what James mean by faith without works is dead. Ephesians means we cannot work to earn our Salvation in any way, and James means works shows or Salvation to the World.  

So if we get saved through faith in Jesus, but have to work to keep our salvation, we now have a system of works to get into heaven. This is directly contrary to the Bible.  

III. The Big Question  

Every time the issue of eternal security, one question arises: Doesn’t this give Christians a license to sin? After all now you can do whatever you want and still be saved. (As an aside, I can just as easily turn the question around to state: If you can keep getting saved, why can’t you just live like you want? You can just get ‘saved’ again.) But again we run into this family relationship. Do badly do your children have to mis-behave before they are no longer your son or daughter? Silly question.They cannot, they will always be your child. But just as you correct your children, God must lovingly correct us, so there are consequences for our actions:  

And ye have forgotten the exhortation which speaketh unto you as unto children, My son, despise not thou the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when thou art rebuked of him: For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not? But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons-Hebrews 12:5-8  

Sin, unconfessed, brings Chastisement. Notice the word all. If you claim Jesus as Saviour and live in unconfessed, unrepented sin and there is no chastisement, check your Salvation God says there is no family relationship present.  

How severe can this chastising be? If any man see his brother sin a sin [which is] not unto death, he shall ask, and he shall give him life for them that sin not unto death. There is a sin unto death: I do not say that he shall pray for it.-1 John 5:16  

So there can be a sin unto death. The most famous case of this is Ananias and Sapphira in Acts 5:1-10. They lied to God and were struck dead. Saved? I would say yes, but they did not lose there Salvation but they did sin unto death. They were Chastised by God.  

IV Conclusion.  

The Bible plainly teaches Salvation is eternal. Once a person is saved, there is a personal relationship with God, and praise His name, He keeps us forever. Remember, while sin has consequences, losing your Salvation is not one of them.  

Remember, there will be Chastisement. If not, check your relationship. Remember what Jesus said in Matthew Chapter 7: Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. (verses 22-23).

13 thoughts on “Why Can’t A Christian Lose His Salvation?

  1. “See, God’s children will never perish and no man (including yourself) can pluck them out of The Father’s hand”

    It would seem you are reading the word “yourself” into the quote. For if one can not later reject the gift of salvation, that means they have in fact lost their free will.

    I do not believe that people can become lost by merely backsliding, but they can become lost by consciously and deliberately rejecting the salvation they once embraced.

    Like

  2. I added it to emphasise the fact that I cannot pluck myself out of my Father’s heavenly hands any more than I can stop being the son of my earthly Father.

    I can fight with my Father, get mad at my Father, stop speaking with my Father but no matter how I feel, no matter how terrible my transgressions, even by delcaring he is no longer my Father (and I would not do this, I love me Father just like I love my Heavenly Father, but once again, I am making a point) I would still be his son. Nothing can change that fact. I have free will and I chose to accept the wonderful gift God the Father offered by the sacarfice of His Son Jesus. I am His son now. I can walk away, stop acting like His son but will that stop me from being His son, no. Once again there can be dire consiquences for making the choice to behave like that but that is my choice. And if there is no consiqences when I choose that there is a good chance I may have never been a child of His in the first place.

    Like

  3. My family in Christ, My name is Diego and I am currently living in Maracaibo, Venezuela with my wife, she is venezuelan. She is waiting for her visa to be processed. I am here in the meantime serving the Lord in whatever HE wants me to do. In her church there are members that have been christians a long time and are confused about whether or not they can loose their salvation…..today I will be leading a bible study explaining that you CANT loose your salvation……keep me in prayer if you read this before. I will give the bible study today at 7 at night. May the LORD bless you!

    Like

  4. how bad does a child have to be to be no longer a child. i wasnt even that bad and My mom disiwned me long ago said i was to much like my dad. years later when my dad found out im gay he disowned me and said that he hoped i got aids and died a slow painful death. so parents on earth give up their children easily. i hope my father in heaven doesnt give up on me. he has shown me lots of love he has given me wonderful friends he woos me all the time. i might not have alot in life but i have what i need. but but but i worry bout my salvation from what ive seen on google lots of people believe you can lose salvation and shows proof of it like with david and peter. i dunno i guess i just gotta keep my faith and if when judgement days comes and God says i am going to hell. i understand that i deserve it. i know that with out Jesus im a evil dirty sinner who is unworthy and i fall way short of God’s glory. i accept Jesus as my lord and savior i believe he died to wash me and all my fellow brothers and sisters of our sins, he then rose 3 days later and will return someday. thank God he loves us.

    if you want to email me to talk email bluemew88888@yahoo.com

    Like

    1. Joshua, the Bible is clear, I John 1:7: But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. Please get the ALL SIN, it’s not some sin, most sin nor is it even only the ones that other people despise most. All is All.
      If we walk in the light, as he is in the light means that if we are He’s as He is the Light of the world, then we do walk in the light.

      Whether you like it or not, though your parents may of disowned you doesn’t negate the fact that they are your parents. You can’t be unborn from them, the same is true with God, if you displease Him, he may chastise and even seem to ignor you. But if you are His son by new-birth, you can not nor will not be un-birthed. I hope this helps.

      Yours in Christ…….Bill

      Like

      1. P.S. Joshua, pray allow God to deal with your sin that you may have good fellowship with him. I know how strong the grip of sin is, but I also know that God can deal with it, let the counsellor (Holy Ghost) deal with your heart.

        Like

  5. My response to Bluemew88888, being gay is no different than being an alcoholic, fornicator, thief, lier, adulterer, abuser, it’s still sin. To call it anything else, you’d have to tear pages out of the bible, God hates it, as He hates ALL sin. The problem is not affection towards another male ( eg. David and Jonathan ), it’s sexual affection towards another male ( and acting on it ), and needs to be dealt with, in a loving, gentle, Godly way. All sinners come to Christ in their sinful, lost nature, that’s why we come to Christ, we’re lost without Him. God created us Male and Female, for a reason, the lustful desire for the same sex IS reversable, with tender guidance from a qualified Pastor or christian councilor, and that’s what would be my suggestion. You can’t rationalize it by saying I was born that way, because science proves otherwise, remember the Genome Project ? There is no gay gene, end of dicussion. I know there’s a handful of Psychiatrists who beg to differ, but sound science proves otherwise. If you came to Christ sincerely, seeking salvation, you’re saved, end of discussion, but like any sinner, there’s the process of sanctification that will now take place, and I’m positive God will remove that desire from you in His time ( as He did drug / alcohol abuse from me ), and turn your desire towards a lovely young lady some day. Thank Jesus for saving you everyday, and ask the Holy Spirit to cleanse you from the inside out, and use you for God’s glory. God can use you to to minister to others trapped in the homosexual lifestyle.

    Like

What do you think?

