BTW*, A Different Look At Success

If you would have asked me in high-school what my life goals were I would have named two: Be happily married and a millionaire by the time I was thirty. A funny thing happened along the way, God saved me

OK, now I am not saying those goals are evil in and of themselves (it is the love of money that is evil not money) but there was a problem: I did not include God at all in my plans. And you can’t get by just tipping your hat to God and say “this is what I will do with my life” and expect God to bless it. Don’t get your cockles up, I am not talking about a “prosperity gospel” but neither do I encourage a poverty gospel. What happened when God saved me is that I had a shift in my paradigm (a philosophical or theoretical framework of any kind) of thinking of what success actually means.

  • It is not about how much I can grab for myself during this short life on earth.

  • It is not even about how much I can accomplish for God.

  • It is about what God wants us to be!

For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate [to be] conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.-Romans 8:29

This verse comes right after the famous Romans 8:28 letting us know that all things work together for good to them that love God and called according to His purpose. God’s goal for us is for us to be like His Son. This reminds me of the story of the silversmith who carefully attended his silver so it would not burn in the crucible and kept skimming off the dross and he knew when he was finished was when he saw his image in the silver. We may have to go through some trails here but the faster we learn the sooner we can be off the heat and ready for the next step. But the goal is the same: God wants to see the image of His Son when He looks at us!

Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:-Philippians 2:5

One of the ways this is accomplished is for us to carry in us the mind of Jesus Christ. The main two points here are a mind of humility and obedience.

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them. –Ephesians 2:10

God has called us to good works but He is more concerned about who we are before what we do. I know this is a different way of thinking than most of us are use to, but it is worth it in the end. As of this writing I am a happily single working stiff trying my best to go were God leads, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Is He done yet? No way, it is like the song says: “He’s still working on me”.  But I am enjoying the journey.

Just something to think about.

*BTW=by the way in computer-speak

What do you think?

