Mark The Perfect Man

Mark the perfect man, and behold the upright: for the end of that man is peace. –Psalm 37:37

 

There is just too much in Psalm 37 to stop after just the first 11 verses or so, and as I was preparing a Sunday School lesson recently this verse impressed me greatly and there were three points:

First: Mark the perfect man. I know a lot of guys named mark and there ain’t any of them perfect but we are looking at 20th century English and this is based on ancient Hebrew. The same words can me different things in different time or cultures. If I am getting a lift in America, somebody is giving me a ride in their car, in England it probably means I am going on an elevator from the first to the third floor. So to Mark someone (Mark: 8104 shamar { shaw-mar’}to keep, guard, observe, give heed[i]) is meant to take notice of them. We are to be a peculiar people so we need to be different and that difference should be a positive so people are drawn to our Saviour. And perfect here is not flawless but someone who is wholesome, having integrity: one who is morally and ethically pure.[ii]

Second: Behold the Upright. Inspect, perceive and consider the upright (3477 yashar { yaw-shawr’} right, pleasing, correct: straightforward, just, upright, fitting, proper[iii]).

So what is the point, God gives people in our lives and examples in the Bible of people who are positive role models. We need to take the time to get to know them, emulate the good qualities while not imitating the bad (DL Moody was overweight, Charles Spurgeon smoked cigars, etc. and I heard it said and I cannot remember by who but you can become all the worst qualities of all the best men. So rather than concentrate on the negative, start with the positive.) I remember in the church God saved me in we had a man name Ernest and he was a mentor and role model to me as a young Christian, and he was a godsend. When I started in the bus ministry, I drove the van for him, when I felt God leading me into the odyssey of the Sunday School ministry, I was his assistant. He was patient through my mistakes, never got angry and was a positive influence and 15 years later I am now a Sunday School Superintendent. He had a large hand in forming what a teacher should be and I thank God for his being in my life. 

There are also many Biblical examples that I think I may take a few weeks and look at them with you but I think this defines a basic problem with the church today. We are getting converts but what are we doing with them. We need to be teaching and making disciples so they can go out and make more disciples. (Sorry, just an aside. And it is not about programs but building relationships).

Third: The end of that man is peace. His end, the legacy he leaves behind is peace. Peace in the absence of strife or trouble. Anybody who has been a Christian for any length of time knows troubles, challenges and strife will come to the believer. Peace in this context is more of the realm of safety, and also includes other thoughts (soundness (in body); welfare, health, prosperity; peace, quiet, tranquility, contentment; peace, friendship[iv]).

A closing thought: Are we living lives that are worthy to be marked or beheld? Are we living lives of moral integrity that glorifies God? We need not worry about the perceived thoughts or sins of others but we need to only judge this: will people stumble over our actions on the way to hell? (Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumblingblock or an occasion to fall in [his] brother’s way. –Romans 14:13). Our goal instead should be to let the light of God’s love shine abroad in our hearts.

 

Just something to think about.


[i] Enhanced Strong’s Lexicon, (
Oak Harbor, WA: Logos Research Systems, Inc.) 1995.

[ii] Enhanced Strong’s Lexicon, (
Oak Harbor, WA: Logos Research Systems, Inc.) 1995. Perfect: 8535 tam { tawm}

[iii] Enhanced Strong’s Lexicon, (
Oak Harbor, WA: Logos Research Systems, Inc.) 1995

[iv] Enhanced Strong’s Lexicon, (
Oak Harbor, WA: Logos Research Systems, Inc.) 1995, shalowm { shaw-lome’}  or shalom { shaw-lome’}

What do you think?

