Only Jesus

My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous: And he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for [the sins of] the whole world. -1 John 2:1-2

 

Propitiation: hilasmos (Strongs G2434) an appeasing, propitiating; the means of appeasing, a propitiation

 

Only Jesus could meet the requirements set forth by God the Father. Only His precious blood would do, as the author of Hebrews said: How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God? And for this cause he is the mediator of the new testament, that by means of death, for the redemption of the transgressions [that were] under the first testament, they which are called might receive the promise of eternal inheritance. (Hebrews 9:14-15)

Only by accepting what we have done can we be made acceptable in the eyes of God. Anything else is foolishness. Think about it, I am walking down US 1 and my friend David comes by in his pickup truck and offers me a ride downtown. So I hop in the back and hold on to the top of the cab carrying my backpack as I stand in the bed of the truck. My friend says put down you burden and come in and sit where it is comfortable. But I say “no, it is enough that you give me a ride downtown, I will bear my own burdens.” How silly! But how often to we do the same to God. Ok God, you saved me, I can take it from here, and I can handle my own troubles, problems and sins from here on out.

It is not only wrong but foolish, Jesus who loved us so much He paid the price I could not pay so I can stand before a holy God and think I can handle the rest myself.  We need to remember how Peter admonishes us:

 

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. -1 Peter 5:7

What do you think?

