Thanksgiving

America as a nation has been blessed by God, and we have ceased being a thankful people and have slowly become a nation of whiners.

This point was vividly sent home by a recent Democratic Party Presidential Debate. Hillary Clinton,a campaign front-runner, seeking the office of President of the United States, played the like she was a victim because those mean boys picked on her! Pathetic, and not like someone I would want in office (can you imagine those Arab leaders cutting her a break because she is a woman and they should not be mean? Come on now!) and the reason was that she would not give a straight answer on several questions and she was called on it. Maybe we should change the first line of the song to: My country tis’ of thee I whine to you give me all that I seek.

Lest we forget, God does not approve of those that complain. Think of Israel in the wilderness. They complained one too many times and God sent fiery serpents to bite them and they would die unless the looked upon the brass serpent.

We should not be like that! Paul urges us under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit to: In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

I am not saying we should be thankful for bad things, but I remember a turning point in my life when I was down on the bottom dragging and my life was a mess and I was in the midst of God’s chastisement when the thought came to me “I may not like the circumstances but I thank God because this reminds me I am God’s child! (If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not? But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons. -Hebrews 12:7-8)

In a time where Christens ask “What is God’s will for my life?” we have and answer: be thankful. We need to teach an attitude of gratitude to the next generation and we can begin by showing thankfulness in the home for all we have, and it will catch on, as the little boy who said thank you to his grandma for his piece of cake, and she said how nice it was to hear a young man say thank you.  He said: Give me some ice cream and I will say it again.

Smart boy. Just a little something to think about.

What do you think?

