Cultivating Gratitude

Having hit a hard point in my life after the last few weeks I got inspiration from two sources, one expected and one somewhat of a surprise. The hard point is my health is not doing so good and it is getting discouraging not being able to do the things around my church that I am use to not because I don’t want to but I am just not physically able to anymore. This can be frustrating, I am a relatively young man (just 44 this past week) but complications from a long bout with diabetes is making it difficult to do things I want to do (i.e. help with tables, stand while teaching Sunday School, etc.) I guess now more than ever I need a positive, upbeat kind of attitude, which is an attitude of gratitude.  

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. -1 Thessalonians 5:18
Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, [and] into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, [and] bless his name. –Psalm 100:4

These are commands, not request. So how can I do cultivate gratitude?  This is where my unexpected source comes in:

The unexpected source was The Allen Hunt Show  last Sunday night where he had Deborah Norville as a guest and how much better people do both physically and emotionally (as well as spiritually if I may add according to the above verses) and she encouraged people to start making a list of three things a day that they are thankful for. Makes sense, it is hard to be negative if you are concentrating on the positive. Here is my list for today:

·         God for saving me (I don’t count this as one of the three, but it is something I always want to keep in mind)

·         The Allen Hunt Show

·         My parents (they are always just a phone call away and are the closest thing on this earth I have as a tangible example of unconditional love. Yes, I am blessed)

·         Good friends.

Which brings me to the more expected source: I spoke with a old friend of mine who use to be my pastor and he encouraged my heart by reminding me God is not surprised and to do what God wants me to do to the best of my ability, that is all God or anyone else can expect:

And whatsoever ye do, do [it] heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men –Colossians 3:23

And my friends will understand, I have been there a long time and they know my heart. Have I mentioned lately I am thankful for friends?

Just something to think about.

One thought on “Cultivating Gratitude

  1. I saw your blog entry — and hope this finds you feeling better. Glad you ca_ght Alan’s show – he is a gifted pastor and I was priviledged to be on. Check out the stories on my website __ you ma) find them uplifting. Blessings …
    Deborah Norville

    Like

What do you think?

