Immutability

For I [am] the LORD, I change not –Malachi 3:6

 

When meditating on the attributes of God: His Holiness, His Grace, His Mercy, His Love,  Justice the list goes on and on but when I think on these things I cannot help but be thankful for God’s immutability. That is a $50 theological word that mean He does not change. (Immutable: not capable of or susceptible to change[i]).

 

I remember in high school reading Homer’s Odyssey and the myriad of Greek gods whose pleasure or wrath can be earned by mere whims. I particularly remember once scene where Odysseus was disguised as an old man on the beach and he lied to the goddess Athena about who he was and she seemed to admire his deceit. But the Greek gods seemed to be made in the image of the men who created them so they would be petty, bickering sort and whose minds would change from day to day.

Not so with the God of heaven. He does not change

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever –Hebrews 13:8

The great thing is God will not say today I will change the definition of sin. What was sin yesterday, is sin today and will always be sin (sorry guys and gals, there is actually right and wrong and it is defined as transgression of the God’s law, cf. 1 John 3:4). I can take some comfort in this because I know that if I am trying to please God today, the definition will not change tomorrow.

The great thing is God will not change the requirements for our salvation. God’s offering of Jesus Christ for the sins of the world will always be sufficient:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved. He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. –John 3:16-19

My salvation is in God’s hands and I thank God that will never change. If it were up to me to keep myself saved I would be of all men most miserable. (My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any [man] pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave [them] me, is greater than all; and no [man] is able to pluck [them] out of my Father’s hand. –John 10:27-29)

Just something to think about as we rush about this holiday season.


[i] Immutable m-w.com

What do you think?

