Don’t Steal My Hope

I was listening to a sermon on Isaiah 53 and he was doing OK till he got to one part of the verse 5:

But he [was] wounded for our transgressions, [he was] bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace [was] upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. (emphasis mine)

And of course this only means spiritual healing , right! Wrong! The trouble is with a lot of Conservative Evangelical types like myself is that the more liberal movements, like the Charismatic, word of faith has so warped the meaning of this verse that the more conservative of us are so afraid of being confused with them we won’t say what is right and pass mis-teaching from generation to generation.  What does the word healed in this verse mean anyway?

Healed (rapha’) to heal, make healthful; of God: healer, physician (of men), of hurts of nations involving restored favour (fig), of individual distresses (fig)

I looks to me to make the word mean spiritual only is doing it a disservice. Listen, I am not part of that “name it, claim it, if you have faith you  will be healed now” type of crowd but I do have a promise from God and I will be healed in this life or the next (And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. -Revelation 20:14).

I don’t know about you but when I stand before my Jesus in Heaven, I will not be a diabetic with nerve damage and bouts of depression. I will be whole and it will be because what my Jesus did for me back on Cavalry. I won’t let anybody take my hope away.

What do you think?

