The Dark Night of The Soul and Blogrot

Sometimes when you get to the end of the rope, you need to tie a knot and just hang on.

This simple philosophy from a 1970’s poster featuring a cat on a rope I remember seems quite cute and uplifting till you get to that dark night of the soul I hear so many people talk about. I have had some bad days, even some bad weeks but never experienced anything that could be described as this dark night till recently.

The Dark Night of The Soul is from St. John of the Cross, a 16 century catholic that Wikopedia describes as a treatise written by Spanish poet and Roman Catholic mystic Saint John of the Cross. It has become an expression used to describe a specific phase in a person’s spiritual life, a metaphor for a certain loneliness and desolation. Though typically associated with a crisis of faith in the Roman Catholic tradition, it is referenced by spiritual traditions throughout the world.[i]

Over the last two months I have had a decline in health beyond my imaginings. A degenerative nerve disease that is causing a great deal of pain; couple this with a return of my depression in force and I started doubting quite a lot. It lead to a spiritual crises in my life that came to a head last Sunday while I was watching an evangelist named Tim Lee. I have heard Tim Lee before and it wasn’t so much what he said but what he was doing. He was preaching. You may not think too much of this till you realize Tim Lee is a double amputee who is going on with what God had called him to do. (More information on Tim Lee is at his website).  I realize I had no excuse before God. I needed to get back what God has called me to do: Teach, preach and write my blog. I have been negligent in all these areas. For this I apologize. There is a mild case of blogrot here from neglect so I have been working on some updates. First the name is changed. There is good reason for this. When I first felt lead to do an online ministry I was given the name Unto the Hills and it is from the 121st Psalm:

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help [cometh] from the LORD, which made heaven and earth. He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber. Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. The LORD [is] thy keeper: the LORD [is] thy shade upon thy right hand. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul. The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

The thought in this is that the Lord is our source for our strength, hope and help. Since 1996 Unto the Hills has been around through several resurrections (at least 4 now) and I have also had a statement of purpose:

To reach the lost and encourage the Christian through Gods Word.

I remembered both of these recently and will keep them in mind moving forward. I am looking forward to a great 2008 with you.

God Bless

Bro Tom

What do you think?

