Good Point or Just Meddling?

Did you ever listen to a good sermon or read an interesting book or article on the Christian faith and have it go from “hey, that is an interesting thought” to “they are just meddling now!” or in other words they are just sticking their noses in where they do not belong. After all how dare those hypocrites with all their problems start throwing out their opinions on topics they know nothing about!

 

You know what just happened? You were just convicted about something in your life and we just plain don’t like when that happens. It goes like this:

 

Preacher: “sin is bad”

Congregation: “amen”

Preacher: “we should not sin”

Congregation: “amen”

Preacher: “The Bible says we should tithe”

Congregation “now you’re just meddling!”

 

It does not matter where your personal fault is (and we all have them: for if we say we do not sin, we make Him (God) a liar -1 John 1:10) when that time of conviction comes up we have two choices: Repent and turn toward God or rebel and turn from God. I know, I’m meddling now but thing about it, there are things I know I do every day and I have to stop and thing and repent:

 

Like a 17 min 15 min break (Servants, be obedient to them that are [your] masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; -Ephesians 6:5-6) I should strive to be my best every day regardless of personal circumstances (more about that on my next post) not just because I owe it to them because they pay me but it brings glory to my God.

 

That is just one example from my life, and I am sure you can think of examples from your own as well. It is not a matter of meddling but letting God lead us by His Spirit (who is doing the convicting) by His Word (weather preached or read) we need to realize Who is speaking and give proper heed. I know it is easier said than done but fortunately I do not have to do it alone. The same Spirit who convicted me can lead me also.

 

Just something to think about. 

What do you think?

