Peace With God

Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ: By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. -Romans 5:1-2

When I am up till 4 AM with worry and stress and wonder about things like “where is the peace God promised?” and think just maybe it is me. I know it cannot be God, He is never wrong. As I pondered the peace four thoughts came to mind, and I want to share one with you today:

You cannot have the peace of God till you have peace with God.

We have peace with God through Jesus. As the saying goes: Know Jesus, know peace, no Jesus, no peace. This knowing comes from starting and maintaining a relationship with Jesus. When I came to Him a lost sinner over 18 years ago (is it really that long? I look at the teenagers in my church and I have been saved longer than they have been alive! Ugh! I’m getting old! But I digress.) I had been under heavy conviction for three days and the weight of the world and worry seemed to fall off my back as I realized God tood the payment for my sins. The wall of sepreation had come down, the veil torn to the holiest and God in His grace gave me access to Himself by what Jesus did for me.

As times goes on I realize now (hopefully sooner than later for my own sake) that my realtionship with God seems distant, It is usually my own fault, I have allowed something to come between me and Him (in my case usually sin. They build up like a brick wall between me and God till I cannot see Him or feel His presence. I am still saved but I have broken fellowship with God. (If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear [me]-Psalm 66:18) but I can confess, repent (i.e. turn away from the sin like making a U-turn on the road. I can be sorry I am going north but it will not change till I turn the car around and head south) IF I repent and confess God can and will forgive me (If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. -1 John 1:9)As I tear down one sin at a time, brick by brick, God in His mercy and grace forgives and forgets. As I do this the words of Brother Lawrence comes to mind:

Keep short accounts with God

Just someting to think about

What do you think?

