Peace of Jesus

Peace of Jesus

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. -John 14:27

Peace (Strongs NT 1515): the tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and content with its earthly lot, of whatsoever sort that is.

When we look at the peace Jesus gives us it is not what we would thing of as peace: a live void of confilt, trails, wars. It is peace of a different sort. The soul is tranquil not because of circumstances but quite often (especailly in my case) in spite of it.

It is also different because of its source. I cannot manufacture one minute of real peace but recive it from God. He left it here for me and gave it to me. It is mine to have and keep or reject.

I cannot lose peace but I can give it away by letting my heart be troubled over things of this world or giving into fears of my own creation. The thing about this peace is marvously simple: I have to let it be to have it.

This can be hard, I like to worry and fret over the little and supposedly big things in life, but I learned an interesting lesson from my little children (the pre-k class sometimes is in the childrens church I teach every other month) and I asked a little girl (we were teaching a lesson on trusting God and how he provided food for Elijah by the ravens) do you worry about where your food comes from? No Why? Daddy makes sure I get food.

That little lesson on faith has taught me much about trusting God and having peace.

Just something to think about

What do you think?

