Peace as an Umpire

Col 3:15  And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.

When I think of the word rule here it reminds me of a monarch ruling but that really did not make sense in this contact the more I thought about it, so I did a little research and found out what the word rule means in this verse: [Strong’s NT 1018] to be an umpire.

That threw a whole different light on the idea in this verse. If I have a decision to make, any decision, no matter how large or small, the presence of God’s peace, or lack thereof should be a major factor in what I do. Don’t get me wrong, there are some things that we do not need to pray about. Witnessing is commanded and we do not need to wait on God’s peace on weather we do it or not. We just need to do what God does command. Witnessing, giving, a good active church membership (we do need to seek God on where to go, but once decided, we need to go whenever the doors are open! It again is a command, not a request!)

A case in point: I had an opportunityto get a promotion at my job, more money the same hours so I took it and boy was that a mistake! I had no peace in that job and the work was so much more stressful it about put me under with a serious decline in health due to the job. It took about six months but now I am back in my old job and the peace is back. Sometimes it is better to wait and see for the peace of God before moving.

Sometimes what seems like a no brainer kind of decison to us may have effects we cannot imagine so we need to have the patience to wait on God and His guidance and the peace of God is a good umpire to help you make that decision.

Just something to think about.

 

What do you think?

