Arrrugh!

I was reading I Corinthians 13 and came to this verse:

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. (v.11)

 

I read it in the Amplified Version and it said: I thought as a child, I spoke as a child, I reasoned as a child.

 

Then I got a good giggle. I was teaching children’s church and the children’s church director decided to bring in toddlers to our class (now we have 3 yr old up to 6th grade in one room, did I say this was fun? Was this what I signed up for?) and I was trying my hardest to get one of these little ones to face front.  Do you understand the rules say you are to face front (Yes, says little one), are you suppose to face front (Yes again) so are you going to face front (No). I go through this three times with the same response. I turn to my adult helper and said “logic does not work on these guys, does it?” (She shook her head no).

 

New approach: I get the little guy’s attention and say. “Buddy I need to turn around and face front for me now, OK?” (Little guy nodded his head and faced front).

 

This is OK for a 3 year old but what about if this guy was 13, would it still be ok, or should we expect some growth from this kid? I would not be nearly as patient with someone who was 10 years older and especially if they had been in church and knew how to act.

 

OK, now from God’s POV (point of view). How long have I been saved? Shouldn’t I know better? I am sure I must sometimes, if possible, frustrate Him (Just sitting up there shaking His head saying “somethigs wrong with that boy”). I have been saved 18 years now and I should be able to speak, act, and live like a man but sometimes I slip back and act like that three year old, who when God tries to nudge me in the right direction by His Holy Spirit, I just say “No”.

 

But thank God He is kind and patient with me so that I can see what He has been trying to show me all along and how much easier it would have been if I just listened in the first place.

 

How do you write a sigh?

 

Just something to think about.

What do you think?

