Confession

Today we continue our thoughts on salvation by addressing the subject of confession.

If thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in thine heart God raised Him from the dead thou shalt be saved. For with the heart believeth unto rightousness and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation. -Romans 10:9-10

Confession is not by itself, but it is accompanied by belief. The thought of what we are confessing. It is not just an understanding that Jesus is God, Lord, and creator of the Universe. Even the devils believe that and tremble at the thought of it (see James 2:19) but as the result of a deep conviction based on the terrible price Jesus paid for our sin that we need a Saviour, that we freely make Jesus our Lord and Saviour, repenting of and turning from our sins. Accepting the gift of salvation we believe (to trust, rely on, have faith that He will do as He promised). We agree with the Father that Jesus is Saviour and Lord.

The thought that I am trying to get across here is that this is not something that you come across easily. I remember when God saved me. I was a baptized church member who missed the point completly. It was November and I promised God that next year I would start tithing and going on visitation because I was just too busy and needed the money this year to get caught up. But starting next year I would begin being faithful (I am sure He was most impressed and profoundly grateful).

Well on December 28th, 1989 I tithed for the first time, and the next Thursday I showed up for soul-winning visitation. I went out with the bus director and we vistied this nice lady and Mark went over the plan of salvation and the third time through I realized that I had never been saved.

I went home that night and  I had no peace. I knew if I died I would bust hell wide open. The devil started working on me, “you can’t tell them now, you have been baptized. You have joined the church. They would never accept you now.” But by Saturday I could not take it anymore and did not care what anybody thought, I needed to be saved. I went to church and spoke with my friend and bus director and on January 6th, 1990 there was a new name written down in glory, and it was mine!

Am I saying we all have to have an experience like mine? No, I am saying that the Holy Spirit brought me to the point of conviction, which caused me to make the decision, when I made the decision believed and was born again.

Nobody was born a Christian, nobody always followed God, everybody has to be born again, saved. Everybody has to make a decision, a confession. And no decision is a decision not to follow Jesus. And this decision, this confession, leads to a conversion.

What do you think?

