Just a Kind Word

Romans 12:15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.

There was a little girl who was late coming home for supper. Her mother made the expected irate parent’s demand to know where she had been. The little girl replied that she had stopped to help Janie, whose bicycle was broken in a fall.

“But you don’t know anything about fixing bicycles,” her mother responded.

“I know that,” the girl said. “I just stopped to help her cry.”

Not many of us know anything about fixing bicycles, either. And when our friends have fallen and broken, not their bicycles but their lives, NONE of us knows how to fix that. We simply cannot “fix” someone else’s life, even though that’s what we would like most to do.

But like the little girl, we can stop to help them cry. That is the best we can do. And that is a lot!- Murray Lancaster

In life compassion goes further than we think when we are helping others. We help them to bear their burdens when life gets just a little too heavy for them to handle by themselves, and sometimes we need to be willing to accept this help ourselves. I know this is the hardest part for me. When life has beaten me up a bit, just knowing someone else understands and cares can make a big difference, because it is a reminder to me that Jesus cares for me. And sometimes no words are needed.

2 thoughts on “Just a Kind Word

  1. That is so true. I hope you and others are willing to reach out for someone to “help” you “cry” because we all need someone to cry with us at times. Thanks for reminding people of this need that we all have at one time or another.

    Like

    1. I know, I work overnight shift and had a really rough night and that story just touched a nerve with me today. I am thankful for my friends who so show compassion by just listening to me sometimes. We all need to be on the lookout for someone we can show the love of Jesus to with a kind thought, word, or action.

      Thanks for your response.

      Like

What do you think?

