Defining My Beliefs

OK, for years now I have classified myself as “non-denominational” not because I am necessarily against any particular Christian denomination but I just don’t really fit into any one, and it seems denominational thinking has the potential to divide the Body of Christ rather than unify it. But if that is your thing, have at it.

But after years of being asked questions like “what does non-denominational means?” and quips like “if you do not stand for something, you will fall for everything!” (meaning since I do not stand for a particular denominations standards, I do not have any). Well, since you asked for it, here it goes:

I am an Born again, Independent, Fundamental, Reformed Baptist-costal. (aren’t you glad you asked!) So I hear the questions starting again, what does all this mean?

  • Born again: Saved by grace through faith. Born again by the blood of the Lamb of God Jesus Christ.
  • Independent: i subscribe to the autonomy of the local church. Each church is governed independently by its own board of elders/deacon board with the Pastor the chief under-shepherd leading the flock. No national or international boards governing the local church.
  • Fundamental: The  Bible is the final authority in all matters. The Bible says what it means and means what it says.
  • Reformed: I agree with at least some of the tenets of the reformation. I subscribe to the five solas of the reformation (you can visit the “My Creed” page and scroll to the bottom to see what this means) but not to the TULIP model nor to the ceasing of the gifts of the Spirit.
  • Baptist-costal: I was born again in an Independent, Fundamental, Baptist (IFB) church. I agree with most all their beliefs with the exception of the fact they do not believe in the baptism of the Spirit.  For the costal part, I am in agreement with the 4 core values of the Assembly of God Church: salvation (as well as the eternal security of the believer which is IFB), divine healing (an I did experience this for the first time in an IFB church), and the second coming of Jesus Christ (along with a pre-trib rapture).

I hope this clears up any confusion y’all might have 🙂

What do you think?

