A Mother’s Love

I revieved this story in an e-mail. I was so moved I wanted to share it with you all

Stephanie D.’s, dream house in Indiana took 9 months to build and 9 seconds to fall in a recent tornado. With the house disintegrating, she grabbed her son Dominic, 8, and daughter Reese, 5, and ran to the basement. There, she wrapped the kids in a blanket and climbed on top of them. Protecting.

“I remember the whole thing,” she said. “I stayed conscious the whole time. They needed me. They had to have me, so I had to figure out what to do.” She held on tightly to the children as the house fell down around her. Braving.

“Everything started hitting my back, beams, pillars, furniture – everything was slamming into my back. But I had my children in the blanket and I was on top of them, reaching around holding them.” Unwavering.

Then she realized she had been badly hurt, with her leg appearing as if it had been severed. “It was cut off or it was barely attached. I took my phone and I made a video to my husband to tell him I love him.” She also suffered seven broken ribs and a punctured lung. Sacrificing.

Knowing his mother was hurt, it was Dominic’s turn for bravery. He crawled out from under his mother and ran to a neighbor’s house. Brian Lovins, a sheriff’s officer, used his belt to create a tighter tourniquet and drove her until he could flag down an ambulance, which took her to hospital. Enduring.

After life-saving surgery, Stephanie had lost one leg and the other foot saving her children. In the words of her husband, “You’re alive and you get to see your kids grow up.” A holy mother.

It makes me thankful for my mother and all the sacrifice and love she has had for me over the years. May your Holy Week be blessed as we honor the One who has sacrificed for us.

God bless. PT

What do you think?

