A Sign of the Times

I was listening to a modern rendition of one of my Favorite hymns, “My Jesus I Love Thee,” and there was a change to the lyrics. It may seem minor but it seems to signify a paradigm shift in the Christian way of thinking…

In the last stanza as originally written it goes “and as death’s dew lies cold upon my brow, if ever I love thee my Jesus tis now.”

The modern rendition goes, “and as there is a glittering crown on my brow, if ever I love thee my Jesus tis now.”

The difference may seem minor but the difference in thought is paramount. Saints of old understood in a much greater way than us modern Americans the thought that those who live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution. We do not want to take up our cross. We want the blessings, the miracles, but do not want to pay any price for them. It is part of the entitlement mentality that permeates the United States.

I remember reading some time ago in the magazine put out by In Touch Ministries about how in The Sudan how the believers there would be out praising God, hear the air-raid sirens, go hide, then come back out and praise God in the craters. The saints of old were persecuted, arrested, stoned, and burned at the stake for what they believed. We want to stay home and pout if the church is not set to a comfortable 72 degrees.

As we draw closer to the return of Jesus, things are going to get tougher for Christians around the world and in America. The question I have is this: will our faith stand? I think we as American Christians should thank God for what we have, pray for our nation, read the Foxes Book of Martyrs, and prepare for the worst. I want to leave you with these verses as a closing thought:

2 Chronicles 7:13-14 If I shut up heaven that there be no rain, or if I command the locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among my people; (14) If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Think on how these verses apply to us today. I will pick up here on my next post. God bless till then.

PT

What do you think?

