Will You Be My Neighbor?

Jesus was talking to a lawyer, and he asked Jesus what must he do to inherit eternal life. When questioned about the law, the lawyer replied: Love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, soul, mind and strength and to love thy neighbor as thyself. (read Luke 10:25-29)

The lawyer really did not understand the concept of what an inheritance is, you really cannot do anything to earn it, you get it because of the fact you are part of a family. You are loved. The thing is, I can identify with the lawyer’s next question: who then is my neighbor?

I can get the fact about loving God. He had agape for me. That is one of the four Greek words for love and it means “a love feast.” Think about what a feast is, and I imagine an abundance of food of all kinds, being able to eat my fill and there is still food left over. People misinterpret this as a special divine love attributed only to God but the Bible does not say that. The Bible speaks of the fact that even sinners agape those who agape them (see Luke 6:32) but God perfectly has agape love, He loved us so much He sent Jesus to die for our sacrifice (see John 3:16-18). This is the love we should have for each other (see John 13:34-35), which the Holy Spirit shines abroad in our hearts for others to see (Romans 5:5).

This is the love we need to have for my neighbor. I understand his apprehension as this is one of the things that I struggle with daily. I have friends who have the ability to have mercy, be generous, and not worry about it. I admire them but I am not there yet. I worry about things like having enough money to get to the doctors or pay for my needs like food. I am not working right now due to health issues and money is hard to come by but I want to be obedient. So I understand why the lawyer would ask this question, though I would ask it for a different reason, not to justify myself.

What do you think?

