On Mother’s Day

Ephesian 6:2 Honour thy father and mother; (which is the first commandment with promise;)

What promise? Exodus 20:12 tells us that “thy days may be long,” and Deuteronomy 5:16 says “that thy days may be prolonged and it may go well with thee.”

It reminds me of something I heard in a comedy routine, I think it was Bill Cosby said “boy, I brought you into this world, and I can take you out and make another that looks just like you.” Funny yes but not the reason we choose today to honor our mothers.

I am blesse in life. I have a Mom. When I was young she made sure I got to school and did my homework. She was there when I lost my first pet (an injured sparrow I called Birdie) who I nursed back to health. One day I came home from school and he was dead in the bottom of the cage. It was Mom who gave me a hug and said it was OK to cry.

Mom was the nurse, cook (and still is, oh what a cook! I remember a time when two ladies were using the kitchen in the Circle of Love for their cooking show on PBS in Georgia. They made meatloaf one day and this nice lady asked me how I liked.it. I gave it an A-. She asked what was wrong. Nothing, it just isn’t as good as Mom’s. She accepted that.) And bookkeeper in our house. Dad said many times it did not matter how much money he made, if it was not for Mom paying the bills we would be out in the street.

So honor Mom this Mother’s Day. Give her a call, a hug, a bouquet of flowers. Show honor to who honor is due. God bless you Mom.

What do you think?

