The Influence of A Good Father: Work Ethic

I have not written a Father’s Day post since my Father passed away. The man was my hero, father confessor, and since my recovery my greatest cheerleader. I wanted to re-post one of my favorite Father’s Day post as a tribute to my Dad. God bless.


 

Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise: Which having no guide, overseer, or ruler, Provideth her meat in the summer, [and] gathereth her food in the harvest. How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep? [Yet] a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep: So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man. Proverbs 6:6-11
For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat. -2 Thesaloians 3:10

When I was growing up I was blessed to have a father that believed in working. He held down a job to support us, he bought cars to fix up and sell to help support us. He taught me by example the importance of working.

There is a problem today that dads are not in their place, supporting their kids and being an example to them. It is OK if you need help. Once in a while we all do but you learn, grow get stronger. The Bible gives us in nature and example of the ant. Nobody tells the ant to work yet they are out there every day gathering food and building there colony. If a lowley ant can grasp this why not humans? Is it that some people feel that some work is “beneth us?” I have spent my share of time working in the fast food industry (that means instensive work, not a lot of pay) but you take the man’s money you do the job. If you don’t like it, get another job.

But it does not mean we are not to have compassion on those who cannot work, the Bible says those that will not work, not cannot work. My time is short now so I’ll have to cut it off here. I will pick this up tomorrow, hopefully.

What do you think?

