The Life

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Life: G2222 zo’e From G2198; life (literally or figuratively): – life (-time). .

If He is The Life, we must abide in Him. It is not enough to get on the path but we must live on it. He is the Resurrection and the life.

John 15:4-5 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. (5) I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

  • G3306 men’-o A primary verb; to stay (in a given place, state, relation or expectancy): – abide, continue, dwell, endure, be present, remain, stand, tarry (for), X thine own.
  • It is interesting that Jesus here compares us to a grape branch, not an olive branch or a fig branch, or an orange branch. These branches are different. If you cut them off, put them is water with some peat moss, after a while you will see some little hair like roots develop. There is some life there. Not so with grape branches. That is why when you buy a bunch of grapes, they are still attached to the branch. They cannot do anything by themselves.
  • God the Father is the Husbandman, Jesus is the Vine, the Holy Spirit is the Sap that flows from the vine into each believer. We abide in Him and He in us.

John 15:7-8 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. (8) Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

  • Not only must we abide in Him, His Words must abide in us. They must be very life to us.
  • If we are abiding in Him and His Words are abiding in (living in, dwelling in, changing us to conform to His will) then we can ask what we will and it will be given to us. At this point we will be praying in His will knowing what He wants for us and since we are praying what He wants for us and not what we want for ourselves, He hears us and gives us what we ask. This is a key to a fruitful life. It is a key to answered prayer.

2 thoughts on “The Life

What do you think?